2016 Wesleyan Discipline: 1086

From Wesleyan Discipline
Revision as of 15:40, 30 October 2022 by Seedthrower (talk | contribs) (1 revision imported)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to: navigation, search

1086. Laity. The lay members of the district conference with voting rights are those elected as delegates by the churches or circuits of that district (2016 Wesleyan Discipline:315:7; 2016 Wesleyan Discipline:317; 2016 Wesleyan Discipline:1100-1109) and the lay members of the district board of administration (2016 Wesleyan Discipline:317). The total number of lay members with voting rights shall be determined as set forth in 2016 Wesleyan Discipline:1100:1 while maintaining the principle of equal representation of the ministry and the laity. Each established church or circuit is entitled to a minimum of one lay delegate as its constitutional right (2016 Wesleyan Discipline:315:7; cf. 2016 Wesleyan Discipline:503), and, according to its number of members, to additional lay delegates allotted by the district board of administration (2016 Wesleyan Discipline:1100:1-5). A developing church which is judged to be qualified may be allotted one lay delegate (2016 Wesleyan Discipline:510:5; 2016 Wesleyan Discipline:1100:2; 2016 Wesleyan Discipline:1103).